You have been successfully signed up.

Loading, please wait...

It's only fair to share...Share on FacebookTweet about this on Twitter

February 13th, 2017 by


WhatsApp has added a new feature in order to help make your chats that much more secure. Two-step verification is an optional feature that adds more security to your account. When you have two-step verification enabled, any attempt to verify your phone number on WhatsApp must be accompanied by the six-digit passcode that you created using this feature.

mobiledeals article banner - WhatsApp Two-Step Verification

How To Enable Two-Step Verification

To enable two-step verification, open WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Two-step verification > Enable.

When you have enabled this feature, you can also optionally enter your email address. This email address will allow WhatsApp to send you a link via email to disable two-step verification. In case you ever forget your six-digit passcode. This also to helps safeguard your account. It’s important to note that WhatsApp says that they don’t verify this email address to confirm its accuracy.

It’s recommended that you enter an accurate email address so that you’re not locked out of your account if you forget your passcode.

Important: If you receive an email to disable two-step verification, but did not request this, do not click on the link. Someone could be attempting to verify your phone number on WhatsApp.

Once Two-Step Verification Is Enabled

If you have two-step verification enabled, your number will not be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp within seven days of last using WhatsApp without your passcode. This means that if you forget your own passcode, but you didn’t provide an email to disable two-step verification, you will not be permitted to reverify on WhatsApp within seven days of last using WhatsApp. After these seven days, your number will be allowed to reverify on WhatsApp without your passcode. But, you’ll lose all pending messages upon reverifying. If your number is reverified on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, and without your passcode, your account will be deleted and a new one will be created upon successfully reverifying.

Note: To help you remember your passcode, WhatsApp will periodically ask you to enter your passcode. There is no option to disable this without disabling the two-step verification feature.