Instagram Rolls Out Live Video

Instagram has just released their live video feature. Here’s how to make use of this along with everything you need to know about it.
U
Compare
Guru
Published: Monday, November 28th 2016
General
Instagram has undergone a number of changes throughout the year, now they're adding another set of features, namely live video on Instagram Stories and disappearing photos and videos for groups and friends in Instagram Direct. mobiledeals_article_banner

Live Video

Live videos on Instagram are slightly different to that of it's parent company, Facebook. Unlike Facebook which lets you upload a video to your profile after you've finished your live stream (therefore meaning people can watch it after your live stream is over), Instagram's live video can only be watched while you're live streaming. When you’re done, your live story disappears from the app. To begin your live stream, tap the camera app on the top left hand side of your Instagram feed. You'll then see three options at the bottom of the screen, one of which will be a live video option. Tap the “Start Live Video” button and begin your live stream. You'll then be able to share / live stream for up to an hour. Your friends may get a notification when you go live so they can tune in. While you’re live, you can pin a comment for everyone to see or turn comments off altogether. Untitled-2

Disappearing Photos And Videos

Instagram says that since they've launched improvements to Instagram Direct last year, the number of people using Direct each month has grown from 80 million to 300 million people around the world. That's a massive user base that Snapchat (the obvious inspiration for this update) does not have, which gives Instagram a huge advantage. In order to send a disappearing photo or video, you'll need to launch the camera from inside the Instagram app. Then, tap the arrow to send the picture or video privately (once you've taken it). Untitled-1 You can choose a group, or create one, and you can send it to individual friends at the same time. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot. Whether your account is set to public or private, you can only send disappearing photos and videos to people who follow you. To open your inbox, tap the new paper airplane icon at the top right corner of your feed or swipe left. You’ll see disappearing photos and videos in a bar at the top. tumblr_inline_ogrd0cZ3GG1svf3j7_540 Tap the ones with blue rings around the image to see what your friends sent you. In a group, you can see everyone’s responses — and who else has seen them — in a slideshow format. When you're done watching the video or picture, tap their faded profile photo to send a quick response. These updates are rolling out to all users across the globe. So, if you don't see the changes yet, keep looking out for the update.